It is important for any successful organization to recognize and honor its history and its legacy of leadership. The year 2015 is a particularly appropriate time to do so as the Dean McGee Eye Institute, which was dedicated on December 4, 1975, is celebrating its 40th Anniversary. 

Key figures in the Dean McGee Eye Institute’s (DMEI's) remarkable story include Mr. McGee himself; Drs. Tullos Coston, Thomas Acers, Richard Clay, David Parke II, and Robert “Gene” Anderson; Stanton L. Young; and James R. Tolbert III. Mr. Tolbert has served on the DMEI Board of Trustees since December 1972, served as Chair of the Board of Trustees for more than 20 years, and became Chair Emeritus in late 2013, when he was succeeded as Chair of the Board by Mr. David Rainbolt.

A 4 minute video has been produced to honor Mr. Tolbert’s 42 years of DMEI leadership and service. This video also captures much of the rich history of this very special organization. (Scroll down to view the video in our Recent Highlights section.) Also shown are videos featuring the Institute's and University of Oklahoma Health Science Center's leaders; patients who have benefitted from their care at DMEI; and our commitment to community service. As we celebrate the Dean McGee Eye Institute’s 40th Anniversary, we invite you to view and enjoy the videos.

To view an opinion-editorial piece from The Oklahoman recognizing DMEI's 40th Anniversary, click here.


President's Welcome

Welcome to this exciting website for the Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI)! Since the dedication of our first building in 1975, DMEI has emerged as one of the nation’s largest and most respected eye institutes. The Institute, the University of Oklahoma Department of Ophthalmology, and our faculty and staff have been firmly committed to our multiple missions of patient care, vision research, education, leadership, and service. I invite you to explore this website to learn more about our heritage, people, programs, and world-class facilities. You will understand why we are so proud of our physicians and scientists, many of whom are national and international leaders; a vision research program ranked among the top in the nation with respect to funding from the National Institutes of Health/National Eye Institute and Research to Prevent Blindness; and residency and fellowship training programs that attract the best and brightest candidates from across the country. By offering such excellence, we can better serve all Oklahomans and the regional, national, and global communities. Again, welcome and enjoy!

Gregory L. Skuta, MD
President and Chief Executive Officer
Dean McGee Eye Institute
Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

Patient Portal

Find A Doctor

Special Services

Donate Online

Recent Highlights